Chicago Record Stores - Documentary in the works

Questions and Answers (Q&A) Forgotten Chicago Forum
Explore Forgotten Chicago
Have a question about a specific element in Chicago's history? Ask Away! 
Chicago Record Stores - Documentary in the works
Posted by: Oldphan ()
Date: October 26, 2013 10:50PM

Hello! I hope this message finds everyone well. I'm an artist of several mediums, and I very much want to make a documnentay of sorts, about old Chicago record stores... I grew up in Chicago, and during my teen years, (I'm 30 now.) most of my life and free time revolved around going to all of Chicagos little used & also heavily commercial record stores, and buying and collecting cd's, tapes both VHS and audio,vinyl and memorabilia.... I even used to work at one record store, (Two locations though.)for several years, Dr. Wax, but over the years I've lost touch with everyone... What I'm looking for by posting to this forum, is many things I suppose - I would like to connect and talk with as many of you as possible about your memories of these stores, certainly, but I also hope to find pictures of the old stores, if anyone has them... I sculpt quite a lot, and I would like to make dioramas based on photos of the old locations - the link below is a piece I did recreating the envirmoment of someones Youtube videos, so it would be around the same type of work:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cNGv0_Frh-I

I have also done some very very VERY loose, basic test shoots, you can see one of the tests here:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xxK5GJ6SQTo

Also I am interested in talking with any of the old owners of these shops! Are you guys out there? Video Beat guys? My old Dr. Wax gang? Are you any of you still out these somewhere?