Chicago Ave. and Pulaski Ave. Neighborhood

General Discussion Forgotten Chicago Forum
Explore Forgotten Chicago
Feel free to discuss anything related to the website here. 
Chicago Ave. and Pulaski Ave. Neighborhood
Posted by: rgrazian (---.dsl.emhril.sbcglobal.net)
Date: October 16, 2011 03:42AM

Hello,

I am new to Forgotten Chicago, and it sounds like a great website.

Does anyone have any history or photo's of the Chicago Ave. and Pulaski Ave. neighborhood? I went to Our Lady of the Angels grammar school (1965 - 1970), and lived on Springfield Ave. right off of Chicago Ave.

G & L Bowl, Phil's Lounge, Woolworth's, The Carnival, the yearly bonfire across from Maggio's store and much much more.

I moved out of the area in 1970 when I was only 10 years old, and I would welcome any stories, information and/or pictures of the area from this period or earlier.

Thank you,

Ron Grazian

Ron Grazian
graz99@prodigy.net

Options: ReplyQuote

AD:

Re: Chicago Ave. and Pulaski Ave. Neighborhood
Posted by: shekaago (---.sub-75-248-107.myvzw.com)
Date: October 16, 2011 03:44PM

Hi Ron, Welcome to Forgotten Chicago! My mom lived at 845 N. Pulaski but many, many years ago when Pulaski was called Crawford Avenue. I'm sure I can dig through family photos and find a few from that neighborhood for you. The thing that struck me about your forum message was your mention of Maggio's store, My family used to visit a dentist, Dr. Maggio, who's office was located on Chicago Avenue and I'm wondering if they might be related. Thank you for your PM on Mount Olive too. Small world!

AD:

Posted by: rgrazian (---.dsl.emhril.sbcglobal.net)
Date: October 16, 2011 04:13PM