16 INCH SOFTBALL

Questions and Answers (Q&A) Forgotten Chicago Forum
Explore Forgotten Chicago
Have a question about a specific element in Chicago's history? Ask Away! 
Pages: 12Next
Current Page: 1 of 2
16 INCH SOFTBALL
Posted by: SWEDE ()
Date: February 13, 2015 11:06PM

Anyone remember the good old windy city 16 in softball games and parks? I started playing in the 50's at Oakley Playground league. We traveled to different playground parks every week. Hermitage, Kostner then Strawhacker,Lawler, Murray,Hale. In 1956 Oakley Playground we took third in the city. Our St Michaels League we usually played at Cornell 58 & 59 we took first place. As we got older we played all over. Kelly,Davis,Pasteur, West Lawn, Gage , Ogden, Humboldt. Our Industrial League from American Can we played at Gage Park in the 70's Champs in 72,73,74,and then onto Grant park for the City Champs third place in 72. My brother Roger played everywhere and every park with many good players.

Options: ReplyQuote

AD:

Re: 16 INCH SOFTBALL
Date: February 16, 2015 05:40PM

Another park that Oakley Playground traveled to in the 50's was Destiney Manor Playground. It was located in an unlikely spot that very few knew that it existed. It was in the middle of a neighborhood around 52nd and Levitt. There were no signs on Damen pointing to this park. Any Back of the Yarders know about this park?

AD:

Date: February 16, 2015 07:44PM

[b]Im checking.[/b]

AD:

Posted by: gman ()
Date: February 16, 2015 07:54PM

Still a bunch of active leagues around:

http://www.16inchsoftballchicago.com/

AD:

Date: February 16, 2015 08:20PM