40th Ward WW2 Chicago Victory Gardens... AGAIN!

General Discussion Forgotten Chicago Forum
Explore Forgotten Chicago
Feel free to discuss anything related to the website here. 
40th Ward WW2 Chicago Victory Gardens... AGAIN!
Posted by: GrowingRetro (12.130.117.---)
Date: April 27, 2010 04:08PM

Hi. I'm new to Forgotten Chicago but thought you might be interested in this subject... I've been doing research/speaking on WW2 Chicago Victory Gardens over the winter/spring and I'm quite enamored of the topic. Found out that an empty lot in my hood (peterson/campbell) was once part of an original WW2 VG.

I have been working with my Alderman (O'Connor - 40th) and the property owners for permission to start a community vegetable garden there. We kicked it off yesterday! If you're interested in learning more www.petersongarden.org or we are on FB at Peterson Garden or Twitter @GrowingRetro

We are doing a drive to find vegetable gardeners who want to take part in this revival garden for the 2010 season. Know anyone?

Another cool thing... in my searching I found some suggested seed lists from the 1940's. I did research to find out which varieties are still available... about 67% are still around but I wouldn't say readily available. Anyway, I bought the ones I could find and we'll be growing them in the Peterson Garden! I like to think of it as "history re-eating itself"...

You can read more about WW2 Chicago Victory Gardens on my "other" blog - www.theyarden.com or listen to the story on Chicago Public Radio http://ht.ly/1DMyO

Not trying to be too self promoting here but I LOVE the topic... I'm an avid gardener and my husband and I joke that now I'm not only obsessed with our own garden but with garden's that don't even exist anymore!